Know God, No Fear

You will not fear the terrors at night or the arrow that flies by day, or the plague that roams in the dark, or the scourge that wreaks havoc at noon. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand; but it won’t come near you. Only keep your eyes open, and you will see how the wicked are punished. (Ps. 91:5-8)

Whether it’s things that happen under the cover of night, or battles that take place in broad daylight, it matters not – there will be no fear in the one who lives in Him for they are protected. This reminds me of 1 John 4:18: “There is no fear in love…” Since He is love, if I am dwelling in Him I will have no fear for if He is for me, who can be against me?

For the one who is dwelling, living, abiding in Him, there is no fear, either of disease or any type of destruction. My times are in His hands; nothing can snatch me away from Him or separate me from His love. I will lie down and sleep, and no one or nothing shall make me afraid. If God is for me, and He is, who can be against me? No one that matters!

Many will fall, some will even be those that are closest to me – at my right hand. But His promise is that it won’t come near me. Even if the ones who are close to me fall it won’t come near me if I remain in Him, looking to Him and not people to be my covering and protection. I will remain immovable if I am trusting and seeking refuge in Him. I must keep my eyes on Him, not on others, for He is the only One who can keep me from falling.

Psalm 37:23-24 says the righteous may stumble, but they will not fall, for God upholds them with His hand. God will have vengeance on His enemies; the wicked will be punished, though it often seems they get away with their evil ways. His promise here is that they will get what they deserve and if I am paying attention I will see it when it happens. He will be faithful to those who make Him their hiding place.

How has God proved His faithfulness to you in times of trial?

written January 26, 2009

Published by

CharleneHughes

Author Charlene Hughes - Lover of Jesus, wife, mother, author, and founder/director of Restoration A.C.T.S.

Leave a Reply

