A Matter of Perspective

Perspective is everything. It is the lens through which you see and interpret life. Thoughtree it is greatly shaped by your unique upbringing, it is possible to change, and usually does change in many ways as you grow older. It has the power to dictate, to a large degree, the outcome of your life. In spite of its ability to influence your choices (often unknowingly), you are capable of determining what your perspective will be.

Here’s a simple example: do you remember visiting someone’s house as a child and thinking the house was really big, only to re-visit the same house as an adult, and being surprised to find it was much smaller than you remembered? The house didn’t change, it is exactly the same. You changed physically, from a small child to an adult, and therefore, your perspective (of the house) changed completely. Some people see a glass filled halfway with liquid as half-full, while others see it as half-empty. Both are a matter of perspective.

Most of us, when faced with adversity, would see it as a problem. But what if instead, we saw it as an opportunity? Instead of stressing out, worrying, getting angry, etc., we looked to see how God was going to show up for us, meet our need, or even change our heart? Rather than our first thought being, “Oh no! Now what am I going to do?” it was, “Oh wow! I can’t wait to see how God is going to turn this around for good!” I’ve been pondering this question a lot lately…why do we almost always see things from a negative perspective rather than a positive one? I often catch myself doing this more often than I’d like to admit, and it has been bothering me for some time now.

It seems when God is pointing His finger at something that needs changing in you, you start seeing it in almost everyone around you first. And it really gets on your nerves. Have you ever noticed that, or is it just me? I believe those of us who are Jesus followers should be the most hopeful, joyful, people on the planet because He is Hope, and He is Joy. And more than anything, I want to be like Him. The older I get, the more I realize how desperately I need Him to change me – and my perspective. I’m so very thankful that He not only is able, but willing, because that is His desire as well. He wants children that are a reflection of His nature, and He absolutely LOVES taking us through the process! And, I never thought I would say this, but I’m learning to love it, too!

In what ways has God changed your perspective? In what ways would you like Him to? I would love to hear your comments!

Published by

CharleneHughes

Author Charlene Hughes - Lover of Jesus, wife, mother, author, and founder/director of Restoration A.C.T.S.

Leave a Reply

