How Desperate are You for Change?

fish escape conceptI’ve been involved in healing ministry for the past 20 plus years. It’s been mainly spiritual and emotional, but also supernatural physical healing as well. I’ve learned a lot about healing and about people over those years. In regards to people, I’ve come to realize that we are all very stubborn and resistant to change. I say we, as I’m including myself, as well. We are resistant to change because change requires work, and we also tend to be mostly lazy.

I saw this time and again with people who said they wanted to be free from traumas and various bondages they were in. Yet they were often unwilling to let go of the sin, the lies they believed, or the grievances they had that gave place to the bondages. The effort required to renew their minds seemed overwhelming, so rather than pushing through, they chose to give up. In truth, we usually want a quick fix to get us out of our pain. It is also true that we make time for the things that are important to us. Those who did get healed and free were desperate enough to do whatever it took to get there.

Over the past few months, the Lord has been greatly impressing upon my heart the area of health and nutrition. I see it as an extension of the healing ministry I’ve been a part of; another facet of the diamond, so to speak. Scripture says our bodies are fearfully and wonderfully made (Ps. 139:14) and it is true! Science and the medical industry are continually learning new things about the incredible ways our bodies work and what they are capable of. In this early stage of my new journey, I am more in awe every day of God’s magnificent design, seen in the human body.

I am also learning that so much of our quality of life is determined by our diet. Stress and anxiety also play a big role in affecting our health. I see and hear so many people talk of how tired they are, or how sick they’ve been. They go on about this medicine they’re taking and the side effects they’re dealing with, how much weight they need to lose, chronic pain they’ve had, and a host of other issues. It’s sad to say the least. But the good news is, it doesn’t always have to be that way. We can help turn our health around by making better choices in how we eat, sleep, and exercise. learning new ways to alleviate as much stress and anxiety from our lives will also help.

Which brings us back to what I said at the beginning – we humans are mostly resistant to change because we are lazy and don’t want to do the work required. So we go on in our dysfunction, be it spiritual, emotional, or physical, and take on a victim identity. The really sad part is that we choose that because it is familiar and comfortable, even if it is slowly killing us! It is easier to blame everything and everyone, than to take responsibility for our health and our lives, and do something different.

I want to say that I know not everyone or every situation falls into this category. There are always exceptions to the rule. There are times when every possible option is explored and still there are no answers. I am in no way meaning to discount anyone’s suffering. We do live in a fallen world, and therefore, bad, unexplainable things, sometime happen to good people, people who are desperate for healing. No one but God has all the answers. I am speaking to, and hoping to challenge, those of us who can do something about our situation. We can change our diet, how we handle stress, how much we exercise, etc., if we really want to.

I don’t know your situation or where you stand, but for me, I am ready to make some changes. I am sick and tired of being sick and tired. I am desperate enough to do whatever it takes – how about you?

Published by

CharleneHughes

Author Charlene Hughes - Lover of Jesus, wife, mother, author, and founder/director of Restoration A.C.T.S.

Leave a Reply

