Thoughts From My Heart this Christmas

starofwonderChristmas is upon us once again followed by another New Year. It seems every year goes by faster and faster. Looking back often seems like a blur of days, weeks, and months, with brief moments suspended in time, highlighted in our memories. Some are joyful, some are painful, sprinkled amongst the seemingly mundaneness of daily life. Over the past several years, for me, December has been a time to reflect on the past year, evaluating both the progress and failures made. It is an opportunity to remember those who are no longer with us and to treasure the days with those who are.

If it is God’s will, a brand new year awaits us, offering new possibilities, new friends, new experiences, new chances to learn new things, and new challenges. We should approach this coming year with the eyes of faith, expectant and hopeful of seeing the goodness of the Lord. I sense that this new year is going to be full of changes. Change is good, but not always welcome or easy. We are creatures of habit, too often stuck in the ruts of our ways. But complacency is not true life, rather it is just existing, trying to get through each day, content to stay in the rut. I sense God is not going to let us continue to stay in that place, at least, those who are hungry for something they have yet to experience.

Most of this month, I have felt an unusual restlessness in my spirit. Though difficult to describe, it’s like I know something is coming. I sense big changes are brewing, possibly very soon, but I have no clue what it is or looks like. I’ve had a similar feeling before, though it’s been several years. I just know that I can’t stay here, in this place, any longer. There is more out there, somewhere, and it is calling out to me. It may not have anything to do with physically moving or leaving a location, in fact, I’m fairly certain it’s not that at all. It is a deep stirring in my spirit, a “deep calls out to deep” feeling that only God can answer. It feels like a “kairos” moment is fast approaching. And the longing within me is quickly reaching a level that is greater than my fear of the unknown. Yes, I’ve been here before, and it’s a dangerous place to be. If you can relate at all, you know what I mean. It is one of those “I can’t go back to life as usual ever again” kind of moments.

I am reminded that my life is not my own, I was bought at a great price. My heart, and all that I am belongs to the Lover of my soul. He has led me through some difficult places, but He has never led me astray and He never will. Wherever He leads, by His grace, I will follow, knowing that His heart toward me is full of incomprehensible love. If you are reading this, these same things are true for you as well. He will not take anyone deeper than we are willing to go. His offer is for “whosoever will.” Whosoever will lay down their fears, their plans, their agendas, even their dreams, and follow Him wherever He may go.  What about you? Do you hear Him calling you to come deeper? Do you feel a holy discontent with life as usual? If you are, I encourage you to take a leap of faith and see where He takes you. Your life will never be the same.

P.S. I will be taking a short break for the next couple of weeks to enjoy my family during the holidays. I pray you have a wonder-full Christmas season and a joyous New Year!

 

 

 

Published by

CharleneHughes

Author Charlene Hughes - Lover of Jesus, wife, mother, author, and founder/director of Restoration A.C.T.S.

Leave a Reply

